Sheridan County School District #1 Recognized Outstanding Instructors

The Sheridan County School District 1 Board of Trustees recognized several teachers for special awards they’ve recently received at their October board meeting last night. Superintendent Sue Belish says those educators will have a place on the District “Wall of Fame.”

All three Tongue River schools presented their school improvement plans to the board. Most of the plans revolved around scores on the state assessment exams that students take each spring. Board Chairman Johann Nield gives us his thoughts on the plans.

In other business, the board received an update on absences in the schools. 63 students missed at least one day of school last week. That is about 7 percent of the 924 enrolled students in the District. While public health officials are working with schools to monitor illnesses, there are no concerns with the numbers of students out sick. Some teachers are concerned with the progress of students who may have been gone for an extended period, upwards of 6 days or more.

Sara Heywood - 2008 National Board Certified Teacher
Kathy Winkelmann - 2008 National Board Certified Teacher
Susie Mohrmann - 2007 National Board Certified Teacher
Rachel Schroder - 2009 Arch Coal Achievement Award and SCSD#1 Teacher of the Year
Mike Daley - 2008 AA Volleyball Coach of the Year and 2008-09 AA Girl's Basketball Coach of the Year
Maryke Nel - 2009 Wyoming State Art Educator
Richard Welch - 2009 Wyoming Student Council Advisor of the Year
Sue Belish - 2009 Wyoming Superintendent of the Year

Wyo Theater
view counter