State Lottery Board Members Announced

State Lottery Board Members Announced (Photo courtesy of Flickr user Lisa Brewster)
State Lottery Board Members Announced (Photo courtesy of Flickr user Lisa Brewster)

Wyoming Governor Matt Mead on Monday announced the names of nine members who will lead the board of directors for the state's first lottery corporation. On the heels of the legislature's creation of a state lottery system, the corporation is charged with setting up responsible lottery activities across Wyoming.

Governor Mead says all nine members are truly leaders in Wyoming and in their areas of expertise. He says he appreciates their willingness to work on this challenging endeavor.

The board includes members from a variety of areas, from a Casper radio personality and a Powell newspaper publisher to a member of the Wyoming Legislative Service Office and a few in the legal profession. Mead says this is the right mix of people to maximize the benefits and minimize the negative effects of a lottery in Wyoming.

Members appointed by Governor Matt Mead (bios courtesy Gov. Mead's Office):

Dave Bonner, from Powell, is the publisher of the Powell Tribune and has been in the newspaper business for 51 years. He served two terms in the Wyoming House of Representatives, twelve years as a University of Wyoming Trustee, and six years as a City Councilman.

Brian Scott Gamroth, from Casper, is the award-winning host of K2’s radio morning show and an active fundraiser for programs throughout the state. He has been a radio personality in this state for almost twenty years after working for CBS, Polygram, and Geffen in the record industry.

Jim Griffin, from Casper, worked for the Wyoming Legislative Services Office for nearly two decades as the Information Technology Manager and as a Fiscal and Budget Analyst for lawmakers. Formerly a statistician for the USGS, he taught computer courses at Sheridan and Casper Community Colleges and holds degrees in Statistics and a Master’s Degree in Engineering Administration.

Mark Macy, from Cheyenne, was born and raised in Sundance and is a graduate of the University of Wyoming College of law. He is in private practice in Cheyenne where his practice emphasizes business law and litigation.

Gerry Marburger, from Riverton, is a CPA with over thirty years of experience in general tax and business services. He oversaw his firm’s audit practice of government, non-profit and for-profit enterprises. He is a former President of the Wyoming Society of CPAs, having also served on their board for six years.

Ross Newman, from Torrington, spent 20 years in banking before taking over his family ranch. He is a former Goshen County Commissioner with a history of service to the State, the County, and his community on boards and in other capacities.

Barry Sims, from Cheyenne, is the recently retired Chairmen and CEO of Taco John’s International where he’s been since 1986. A CPA, he’s also served as President of the Wyoming Lodging and Restaurant association as as well as on the board of Cheyenne LEADS.

Erin Taylor, from Cheyenne, serves as the Executive Director of the Wyoming Taxpayers Association. She holds a Master’s Degree in Economics from the University of Wyoming and has significant experience in regulatory policy and economic analysis garnered working in Washington D.C. and regionally for utilities and trade associations.

Jim Whalen, from Jackson, is the Teton County Sheriff who has been in law enforcement since 1976. An Air Force veteran, he holds a Master’s Degree in International Criminal Justice and is on the executive board of the Wyoming Association of Sheriffs and Chiefs of Police.

view counter

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.