Local Writer Wins Award For Novel 'Broken Sight'

Buffalo author Steve Rzasa.
Buffalo author Steve Rzasa.

Buffalo writer Steve Rzasa has been awarded a Carol Award for his latest book entitled Broken Sight, which was published in 2011.

The American Christian Fiction Writers' Carol Award is given to writers in a number of different categories recognizing the best Christian fiction published by traditional publishing houses during the previous calendar year.

Winners were announced September 22nd at the 2012 ACFW Conference Awards Gala in Dallas.

Rzasa's winning book Broken Sight won in the Speculative category, covering science fiction, fantasy, allegory and related topics. This is Rzasa's first award, although he has been a finalist in the past.

Rzasa said he wasn't actually at the awards ceremony, but watched the announcement on the internet.

He tells us more about the announcement.

Each finalist receives a certificate and a silver Carol Award pin and winners receive the actual Carol Award and a gold pin.

Rzasa, who also works locally at the Johnson County Library, has had three books published; 2009's The Word Reclaimed, 2010's The Word Unleashed, and last year's Broken Sight.

He said he is pleased to get the award, and he explains what it means to him.

For the full list of winners, go to the link listed here: http://www.acfw.com/carol/2012_c...

view counter

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.