List Of Those Running For Office In Johnson County

List Of Those Running For Office In Johnson County

The deadline for registering to run in the primary election in August for public offices in Buffalo and Johnson County was last Friday at 5pm.

The final list has been compiled.

In the county offices, County Clerk Vicki Edelman, Assessor Cynthia L. Rogers, Treasurer Carla Faircloth and Coroner David S. Harness have no challengers.

Current Clerk of District Court Thelma Axberg has chosen not to run again, leaving current Deputy Clerk of District Court Debra R. Vandel and James D. Roberts to run against each other in the primary.

Two county commission seats are up this year, currently held by John Gibbs and Chairman Delbert Eitel. Eitel will not be running for his seat this year.
Those that filed for the two seats were: John Gibbs, Gerald Fink, Betsy Willoughby, Robert Hepp, Linda Greenough, Richard C. Hall, Donald Paulson, Nathan R. Williams and William J. Novotny III.

In the race for Johnson County Sheriff, incumbent Steve Kozisek will be running against Richard Burridge and Angela Lloyd-McHenry.

Current County Attorney Kenneth DeCock will be running against Tyler J. Ruby in the Primary.

In the city races, there are two council seats and the mayor's seat up for grabs.

Incumbent Mayor Randy Dyess will be taking on former Mayor Mike Johnson in the primary.

Current City Councilman Stan Lakin will not seek another term. His seat and current Councilman Russ Humphrey's seat are to be filled with this election.
Filing for the two seats on the Buffalo City Council are: Russ Humphrey, Former Councilman Scott Madsen, Wes Haskins, Ryan Zigmont and Jessica Misslin.

The Primary Election will be Tuesday, August 19th.

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.