UPDATE: Report Previews Johnson County Candidate Lineup

The primary election is coming up, here is breakdown of who will be on the ballot.

One candidate reported earlier is in fact not running for office and the position of mayor is not unopposed.
Officials with the clerk's office say Nathan Williams, who put his hat in the ring for the county commission position has dropped out of the race. Also, Mayor Randy Dyess is not running unopposed. In fact,local Mike Johnson is also in the running for the position.

Numerous county and city offices are up for vote in the coming primary election on Tuesday. Here is a recap of the offices up for vote and the contenders.

County offices on the ballot include two commission spots, clerk, treasurer, assessor, sheriff and attorney. The offices of county treasurer, assessor and clerk are running unopposed.

Those vying for the two 4-year terms open in the county commission include Bill Novotny, Linda Greenough, Rich Hall, Donald Paulson, Betsy Willoughby, former commissioner Gerald Fink and incumbent John Gibbs.

Current county attorney Ken DeCock has one challenger to his position this election--Tucker Ruby.

Current county sheriff Steve Kozisek is opposed by Rich Burridge and Angie Lloyd McHenry.

City offices up for election are mayor and two council positions. Current mayor, Randy Dyess has one challenger--Mike Johnson.

Those vying for the two 4-year council positions include incumbent Russ Humphrey, former councilman Scott Madsen, Brian Zigmont, Wes Haskins and Jessica Misslin.

The position of Clerk of District Court brought on two challengers --Debra Vandel and Jim Roberts.

The primary election is set for Tuesday, and polls open at 7 in the morning and close that evening at 7.


Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.