Johnson County Commissioners Impose Partial Fire Ban

Johnson County Commissioners Impose Partial Fire Ban

At their meeting Tuesday, the Johnson County Commissioners voted to impose a partial fire ban in the county effective July 3rd, 2013.

The decision came after newly-appointed Fire Warden Rick Farris and Deputy Fire Warden Steve Haines told the commissioners they had been informed by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) that their partial bans would be taking effect the same day, and recommended the county follow their decision.
The commissioners made their decision based on those recommendations.

The restrictions, as listed in Resolution No. 481, are listed in this story at

The fire restrictions will be in effect on all state, county and private lands within Johnson County from July 3rd until rescinded or amended by the county commission.


1. Trash or refuse fires are only permitted between the hours of 6pm and 8am, inside containers with spark arrestors and in an area located within a cleared area 10 feet in radius.
2. Camp fires contained within a fire ring specifically established by a governmental entity or its agents at an established campground are permitted.
3. Charcoal fires within closed grills are permitted.
4. Use of acetylene cutting torches or electric welders in cleared areas 10 feet in radius are permitted.
5. Propane or open fire branding is allowed in cleared areas 10 feet in radius.
6. Discharge of fireworks in prohibited, except where allowed in #7.
7. Planned burning or group organized fireworks displays are permitted provided written permission of the fire chief of the corresponding fire district is obtained.
8. Any individual responsible for man-made fires shall be held accountable for any and all suppression costs.

view counter

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.