Eleven Candidates File for Senate Seat

UPDATED WITH CANDIDATE LIST- Eleven candidates, three from Sheridan County and eight from Johnson, have filed for the state senate seat left vacant by the death of Sen. John Schiffer. The three from Sheridan County are Dave Kinskey, Steve Cox and Toby Vineyard. The eight candidates from Johnson County are Delbert Eitel, Jim Gampetro, Angela Jarvis, Lisa Keeler, Erin Mercer, Rick Pallister, Jack Tarter and Ryan Wright.

The candidates will be interviewed in a meeting tonight in Story. District 22 committee people from Sheridan and Johnson County are scheduled to meet at 5:30 at the Story Women's Club at 28 North Piney Road.

District 22 includes all of Johnson County and a large portion of Sheridan County outside the city of Sheridan. Sheridan County Republican Chairman Jesus Rios said the committee people tonight will select three of the candidates who are qualified to fill the senate vacancy. That list of three will be sent to the Wyoming Republican Party State Central Committee, then to the Johnson and Sheridan county commissioners.

The commissioners will appoint one of those three candidates to fill the vacancy. Sen. Schiffer died on June 19 following a short illness.

Eye Care of the Big Horns
view counter

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.