Dr. Paul Young Receives Award

NWCCD President, Dr. Paul Young
NWCCD President, Dr. Paul Young

Northern Wyoming Community College District President Dr. Paul Young is in Seattle, Washington this weekend for a Phi Theta Kappa annual convention.

While there, Dr. Young will be awarded one of nine 2011 Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction. The award is named after the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, who served as Chair of Phi Theta Kappa's Board of Directors for twenty years. She was President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Washington.

In a written statement issued to the media, Dr. Young sates that he is “honored to be selected for this award. Programs like Phi Theta Kappa continually demonstrate excellence. I want to point out, though, that every successful chapter has at least one advisor behind the scenes making things happen on behalf of the students.”

Dr. Young credits NWCCD advisors Beth Walker and Jay Araas for their "exceptional work."

Phi Theta Kappa, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest international honor society, About 125,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa annually.


Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.