Deadline Approaching for Jefferson Award Nominations

This Friday is the deadline for nominations for the Jefferson Awards – an annual presentation honoring community volunteers.

Created in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Robert Taft Jr., the award honors and rewards community volunteers and promotes increase in community volunteer efforts.

A panel of five judges independently scores each nomination, and four individuals will be chosen to receive the Jefferson Awards Medallion. The profiles of those four will be sent to a panel at the Jefferson Awards Foundation Headquarters in Wilmington, Delaware, and one of them will be chosen to represent the state of Wyoming during a special Congressional reception to be held in Washington D.C. in June.

The Wyoming Jefferson Awards are presented by KCWY-TV with community partners Reliant Federal Credit Union and Serve Wyoming. On April 26, KCWY-TV will honor the four Wyoming medallion recipients and this year's other nominees and their nominators at a luncheon ceremony in Casper.

At that time, the 2019 Wyoming Jefferson Award national representative will be announced. The national representative and a guest will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington D.C. for the event in June.

To nominate a volunteer, follow the Jefferson Award link on the web at Deadline for accepting nominations is midnight Friday, Feb. 15.

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.