Candidate List is Final

As the filing period for elected offices closed Friday, the scene was set for the upcoming primary election. For Sheridan County, six of the seven county officers will most likely secure their seat because they’re running unopposed.

They are County Attorney Matt Redle, Sheriff Dave Hofmeier, Coroner PJ Kane, County Assessor Paul Fall, Clerk of District Court Nickie Arney and Clerk and Recorder Eda Schunk Thompson. Only Treasurer Peter Carroll has a challenger, Scott Hininger.

All three of the Sheridan County Commissioners whose terms are up want to reclaim their seat. They are past Chairman Steve Meier, current Chariman Terry Cram and Bob Rolston. Hoping to bump one of them out is Dennis Fox.

On the city scene, three sitting Sheridan Councilors want to stay on the council. They are Jesus Rios, Alex Lee and John Heath. They do have a challenger for the three, four-year term seats. That’s Kelly Gooch. The one position open that’s a 2-year term, that Rios was filling for Levi Dominquez who recently resigned, has three people vying for the spot – Thayre Shafer, Mona Hansen and current Councilman Robert Webster. He decided to run for the 2-year seat, instead of the 4-year he currently holds.

In Dayton, three of the councilmen are running for mayor, to fill the shoes of Bob Wood who decided not to seek reelection. They are Norm Anderson, Robert Alley and Dennis Wagner. And there are five people running for the two four-year term spots on the council – Chris Smith, Jeremy Smith, Craig Reichert, Clifford Reed and Eric Lofgren.

In Ranchester, current Mayor Allan Moore decided not to seek reelection. Instead, current Councilman Peter Clark is running for mayor, unopposed. And incumbent Dennis Dunn and Erin Carbert are running for the two, four year seats. No one filed, there, for the two-year seat.

As for the final candidate list for Johnson County, we expect to have that later today.

The Health Nut
view counter

Send us a News Tip!

Have a news tip?
Use our anonymous form to let us know.