Now here's Sheridan Media's look back in time, to 100 years ago, by reporter Pat Blair as published in the Sheridan Enterprise newspaper on Feb. 7, 1914.
The Gem, Sheridan's newest and prettiest picture house, will open its doors at 7 tonight for its first performance. The theater is in the old Red Cross Drug Store building, which has been newly remodeled and decorated. The newest and best light, heat and ventilation devices have been installed for the comfort and pleasure of patrons.
The county fair association canceled its meeting this afternoon, after less than two-thirds of stock in the association was represented at the county fairgrounds.
Contractor John Early has started work to remove the old fire house station in the rear of the old city hall building on Main Street. The fire house will be moved to a lot on Park Street east of Little Goose Creek. The land is owned by contractor A.C. Evans, who purchased the structure.
For Sheridan Media, this is Pat Blair, with a look at Sheridan County on Feb. 7, 1914.